//
you're reading...
guest post, recipes

Kale Salmon Cakes [Guest Post by Vicky]

My cousin Vicky also follows the Paleo diet and has agreed to guest post for us periodically!  I’m very excited about this since she is much more creative with her recipes and uses ingredients that I’m not typically brave enough to try 🙂  This is her recipe for Kale Salmon Cakes and I look forward to sharing more of her recipes with you in the future.  –Becki

If you live close enough to Maryland and the Eastern Shore of the United States, you will understand the cultural and culinary significance of crab cakes. The crab meat is such a delicacy that crabbers will drive across multiple states with their freezer trucks, park on the side of the road, and sell crabs and other assorted seafood to passersby. Growing up in Jefferson County, West Virginia, my mom would often drive to Harpers Ferry, where one of the crabbers parked in a gravel lot near a local gas station. Just knowing that fresh seafood was on the menu for dinner made my mouth water! (Now, as a Paleo dieter, I get just as excited about the freshness and as I do about the nutritional value of the shellfish)!

Fast forward nearly fifteen years, and now both my brother and I are in college. Attending West Virginia University is awesome in and of itself with the move to the Big 12, gorgeous mountains and trails to satisfy my adventure cravings, and enough snow to drive even Old Man Winter crazy. However, the food in Morgantown simply can’t beat the crab cakes found in Annapolis, Maryland, where my brother is so blessed to be attending the United States Naval Academy. It’s always an incredible foodie experience visiting him- my dad often falls off the Paleo bandwagon thanks to all the delicious temptations! (I do have to give my dad some credit, though. Since starting the Paleo diet, he is down nearly 15 pounds and enjoying the increased energy that comes with the enhanced nutrition). So when in Annapolis, I am surrounded by restaurants serving delicious crab cakes, and no matter if they say there are “no fillers”, I can’t get past the fact that there is still some flour preventing me from keeping it Paleo.

However, though this recipe is called Kale Salmon Cakes, you could easily use crab meat instead. I’m so excited to share this dish with you because the taste even surprised me! The cumin and garlic come together to create a southern Mediterranean flare that I absolutely love. These cakes can be served on their own, on lettuce or Paleo buns, over a salad, or in whatever manner you can create! (I topped them with all-natural mustard).

Kale Salmon Cakes

Here is what you will need:

½ cup almond meal

1 can salmon w/ bones

1 cup fresh kale, chopped

2 eggs

2 cloves of garlic, minced; (or you can buy pre-minced garlic and use about 2 teaspoons/tablespoons, depending on your taste)

½ tsp ground black pepper

½ tsp salt, (optional- I don’t like adding salt, personally)

1 tsp ground cumin (or to taste)

3 tbsp olive oil for frying

The recipe is incredibly simple:

Chop the kale leaves and separate the bone from the salmon.

Combine all ingredients into one large bowl and mix thoroughly.

Form the mixture into patties with your hands.

In a large skillet over medium heat, heat the olive oil and fry the patties until golden brown. You will turn once, with a total of about 8-10 minutes of cooking.

I found that 4 minutes on one side then an additional 4 minutes on the other was just right for my non-stick pan.

Enjoy!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

