//
you're reading...
guest post, recipes

Zucchini and Turkey Lasagna [Guest Post by Vicky]

Once again I am impressed with my cousin’s Paleo creativity! This is her recipe for Zucchini and Turkey Lasagna and I have to admit (as a picky eater that didn’t grow up eating a lot of veggies) that I looked over the ingredients in this meal and was thinking “nope, don’t think so”.  Then I saw her pictures and my mouth watered and now I’m thinking I need to pick up some tomatoes and zucchini at market!  –Becki

One of my biggest struggles since embarking on my Paleo journey has been watching my family and friends enjoy delicious traditional Italian dishes. This past summer, I went with my brother and parents to Florida for a week, and as beach vacations call for, we just had to have pizza one afternoon. I however, knew that I wanted to stick to this Paleo commitment as closely as possible, and ordered some fish and a salad instead of lasagna, pizza, or pasta. Though I was extremely proud of myself, I still missed the taste of those dishes. I’ve always been the queen of “carb loading” since I was little, with a history of competitive swimming with multiple daily workouts. The days of pasta dinners and pancake breakfasts have transformed into sweet potato dishes and pancakes from alternative flours. However, I still crave that Italian heritage that my grandmother would cook for us in her basement kitchen.

I started seeing the vegetable lasagna ideas on Pinterest over the summer, and knew I found my answer to the cravings! However, I wanted to bring something special to the idea and make it my own. I’m not always a fan of ground beef, especially since it takes a little extra money to get the quality stuff. By substituting ground turkey, we can keep the fat content lower while still maintaining a high amount of quality protein. The rest of this dish is completely natural- veggies, herbs, and spices. It’s incredibly simple and a non-Paleo diet person pleaser too! (My boyfriend has resisted any suggestion from me to transition into a more Paleolithic lifestyle, but this dish made him realize that Paleo is actually delicious!)

The following serves 4-6, depending on the serving size

Zucchini and Turkey Lasagna

So, here is what you will need:

  • Medium sized baking dish (I use CorningWare– It’s fabulous!)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 medium zucchini or 1 large zucchini
  • 1, 16 oz can of diced tomatoes: be careful and read the ingredients so it is paleo compliant! You may also opt to chop up your own diced tomatoes to have 1 cup of fresh tomatoes.
  • 10 to 16 oz ground turkey, depending on how thick you want this lasagna to be!
  • 1 large tomato or 2 roma tomatoes
  • Oregano (dried)
  • Rosemary (dried)
  • Basil (dried)
  • Pinch of salt (optional)

Let’s get to it!

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350, and coat the baking dish with the olive oil.
  • Slice zucchini into long strips
  • Combine diced tomatoes, ground turkey, and all dry spices (to taste) in a separate mixing bowl, using hands to toss gently, but mix thoroughly!

Screenshot_2014-11-23-19-52-57_1

  • Slice tomato into slices, much like you would for a sandwich.

Screenshot_2014-11-23-19-53-10_1

  • Begin by layering zucchini on the bottom of the dish, sprinkle some of the spices on this layer.
  • Next, scoop the tomato and turkey mixture on top of the zucchini, making a layer about ¾-1inch thick. You can make it as thick as you like, though!

Screenshot_2014-11-23-19-53-43_1

  • Repeat steps 5&6 until you top off with a layer of zucchini.
  • On the top layer of zucchini, layer the sliced tomato, and sprinkle more of the dried herbs/spices.

Screenshot_2014-11-23-19-54-00_1_1

  • Bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes!

    **There may be some excess water when you remove it from the oven- this is easily drained off and does not make the lasagna soggy whatsoever!!

    Enjoy this with a fabulous salad, steamed or roasted brussel sprouts, or paired with veal! I’ve seen almond flour used in place of wheat flour for breaded dishes!

    Screenshot_2014-11-23-19-54-10_1

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

