//
you're reading...
recipes

Paleo Energy Bars

I found these Paleo energy bars on Pinterest from The Kitchn a while back and have been wanting to try them but never got to it.  Yesterday I was grocery shopping and finally remembered to pick up the ingredients!  It was a bit pricey but you can’t avoid that with nuts and dried fruits–I could have gotten them slightly cheaper at Walmart or online, I’m sure, but I had already run a million errands and just wanted to go home.  I also found that most of the dried fruits (the mangoes, plums, etc) at the store I was at had sugar in with them so I was a bit limited.  I settled on apricots that were literally just the apricots.  Also, please note–you NEED a food processor for this recipe.  I was given a Hamilton Beach food processor that was on sale for $35 at Target earlier this year and it works like a champ so don’t think you have to drop a ton of money on this guy.  But definitely invest in one!

Also, I feel the need to say that dates freak me out.  I’m sure this is partially due to not being raised eating them (we were a very “meat and potatoes” family) and also some un-addressed trauma from watching Indiana Jones (you know the scene–the monkey eats the poisoned date and freaking DIES!).  Anyway, they are weird and sticky but they do taste good in stuff!

So here’s the recipe.  I was even super thoughtful and took pictures along the way 🙂

Super Easy Paleo Energy Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 part nuts
  • 1 part dried fruit
  • 1 part pitted dried dates

IMAG0553 IMAG0554

Can I just say that I love all the ways you can play with this recipe???  I had 1 and 3/4 cups of fruit and dates so I used that much almonds (I did a 1 cup batch and a 3/4 cup batch).  You could use ANY nut and ANY dried fruit plus a variety of mix ins (chia seeds, shredded coconut, etc) so the possibilities are endless!  I used almonds, apricots and dates for my first time but am excited to mix it up and try new variations.

Directions:

  • Combine the nuts, dates and dried fruit in your food processor.

IMAG0555

 

  • Pulse a couple times to break things up and then process for 30 seconds straight.  It will sounds like a machine gun in your kitchen…my dogs were NOT impressed.  At the end of 30 seconds your ingredients should be crumb-sized and look like this:

IMAG0556

  • Now you want to continue processing it until a ball is formed.  This will take a couple minutes.  Relax and embrace the endless barking.  Here is the ball I’m talking about (there were some rogue bits that didn’t want to join):

IMAG0557

  • Now you want to lay out some plastic wrap and press the ingredients into an 8×8 inch square.  I was out of plastic wrap and also did an almost-double batch so I used parchment paper in a 9×13 glass pan.  I know mine are a little bit thinner because of this but I’m okay with that.  Also, I coated my hands in coconut oil when I spread out the bars.  It’s rather sticky so you might want to consider that.

IMAG0558

  • Tada!  Now you cover your dish (or wrap your square in plastic wrap) and pop that sucker in the fridge for at least one hour.
  • Once your bars have chilled you can cut them into squares or rectangles (I’m sure you could do any shape, maybe a nice triangle or whatever–I went with rectangles because I’m a traditionalist).  As you can see I also starting eating them right away because they are freaking AMAZING!!!

IMAG0559

  • Storing these guys is super easy.  Just wrap each bar in plastic wrap or store them in snack bags like like I did.  Then pop all of them in a Ziploc-type bag and store in your fridge for 2-3 weeks or your freezer for up to 3 months.  They can be eaten straight from the fridge or freezer.

IMAG0561

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

